High school heights getting lower?

News about national level high school pole vaulting, pole vaulters, rules, etc. Things that are of local interest only should go in the regional forums below. High schoolers wanting to chat should go to the High School Lounge.

Moderators: Robert schmitt, Russ

camaz0tz
PV Newbie

High school heights getting lower?

Unread postby camaz0tz » Wed Mar 09, 2005 11:38 pm

im noticing from the schools ive seen vaulting so far that the freshman this year dont even come close to jumping as high as the other years...when i was a freshman me and the other now varsity vaulters were starting at 9 but the freshman this year are all getting out at 8'6 if theyre lucky 9...just seems like this coming year has taken a huge dive as far as heights go for newcomers...just my area or is any1 else noticing this?

theflyingkorean
PV Follower

Unread postby theflyingkorean » Thu Mar 10, 2005 12:35 am

I would have to disagree strongly:dazed:. I think that there are many, very good non-senior vaulters out there. The bar is getting raised all over. I think that next year will be a very competitive year.

izzystikchik
PV Follower
Location: MARQUETTE UNIVERSITY in Milwaukee, WI. ~ My home town is in OakPark, IL

Unread postby izzystikchik » Thu Mar 10, 2005 12:37 am

yup, i definately think so, our guys are all new, or just not good enough, they all do 12 or down, and about 80% do 8 ft and down.

I've also noticed that for our girls competition, we've, meaning our own program, have gotten better, but our competition has been really bad. i'm not saying that there aren't good girls out there, because there definately are a good handfull of them but across the plane it has been decreasing since i've been vaulting in highschool, about 2002...

blazerunner121
PV Pro

Re: High school heights getting lower?

Unread postby blazerunner121 » Thu Mar 10, 2005 12:43 am