Expertise: USATF Master Official
World Record Holder?: Renaud Lavillenie

Jason Colwick interview

Unread postby PV Official » Fri Apr 09, 2010 12:44 pm

http://www.flotrack.org/articles/view/1821

Jason Colwick KWIK-E

Tony Casey
April 9, 2010

Rice senior Jason Colwick, a two-time NCAA pole vault champion, recently won this past weekend's Texas Relays competition with a mark of 18 feet, 8 ¼ inches over Jordan Scott of Kansas State. Colwick has big goals and an exciting vaulting career ahead of him.

What meets do you have lined up for the rest of the outdoor season?

I think next weekend we're going to UTEP. Then we've got a Rice meet, a Baylor meet, another Austin meet...our conference meet, which is in Florida, then back to Austin for Regionals.

You don't have to travel that far at all?

No, actually I like it that way. I liked traveling when I was a freshman, but I kind of got all of that out of my system since I've been everywhere around the country. I actually don't like traveling because it eats up my weekend...especially with this year as a senior. We have to do so much more. We have this big design project and we have to do so much more to finish out here. I like staying close by and taking road trips.

What are you studying?

I'm a mechanical engineer.

How long until you go over 19 feet?

Oh, my God! I've been chasing that bar for so long. I haven't been chasing it, but I've attempted it at least two-dozen times now. It's getting kind of old.

What's the best look you've had?