gyrgyr
PV Newbie
Expertise: 4 years of high school vaulting
Lifetime Best: 12'6"
World Record Holder?: Renaud Lavillenie
Favorite Vaulter: Brad Walker

Transferring Schools

Unread postby gyrgyr » Tue Dec 02, 2014 1:11 pm

I am currently a freshman attending the University of Maine on an academic scholarship. The school is DI, but it's track program is not extremely competitive (the school's highest vaulter is jumping in the 15' range). After talking to the coach my senior year of high school and being told that it was fairly likely that I would make the final roster, I was cut from the track roster as a walk on. I was told by the coach that I was not as strong as I needed to be to be competitive, and that was the reason for me not making the team. I want to continue vaulting but I don't know whether it's a better idea to tryout again next year, transfer to a school with a more appropriate track program for me, or just give up on vaulting all together. Any advice for this situation would be appreciated.

rainbowgirl28
I'm in Charge
Expertise: Former College Vaulter, I coach and officiate as life allows
Lifetime Best: 11'6"
Favorite Vaulter: Casey Carrigan

Re: Transferring Schools

Unread postby rainbowgirl28 » Tue Dec 02, 2014 2:54 pm

I was in the same situation and ended up transferring after two years at the first school. Transferring can be a pain, but it was worth it to me to have the experience of being a college athlete. Your eligibility clock has started ticking, so it is better to transfer sooner, rather than later.

Do keep in mind that some conferences have additional penalties for transferring within the conference. You'll need to start applying to schools ASAP, be sure to talk at length with the coaches and compliance department at schools you are interested in to make sure you would have a spot on the team and be eligible immediately. Don't just speak with the pole vault coach, speak with the head coach too. <--- all things I learned the hard way ;)