The off-season

A forum to discuss pole vault technique as it relates to beginning vaulters. If you have been jumping less than a year, this is the forum for you.

Moderator: achtungpv

jbagazinski
PV Newbie

The off-season

Unread postby jbagazinski » Sat May 09, 2009 10:20 pm

This is my first year Vaulting, and the season is almost over, and i was wondering how i can stay in shape during the off season, or if there were any exercises that i could do on my own?

powerplant42
PV Rock Star

Re: The off-season

Unread postby powerplant42 » Sat May 09, 2009 11:00 pm

Some things to do: High bar, pole runs, sprinting drills, sand vaulting, walking/jogging plants...

Some things to avoid: Lifting (more than once or twice a month), stubby drills, sitting around, eating chips...

:yes:
"I run and jump, and then it's arrrrrgh!" -Bubka

Thats.What.She.Said
PV Follower
Lifetime Best: 11'
Favorite Vaulter: Darren Niedermeyer :D

Unread postby Thats.What.She.Said » Sat May 09, 2009 11:24 pm

powerplant42 wrote:Some things to do: High bar, pole runs, sprinting drills, sand vaulting, walking/jogging plants...

Some things to avoid: Lifting (more than once or twice a month), stubby drills, sitting around, eating chips...

:yes:

mind if i ask why you're against stubby drills?
Lefties are cooler
I ♥ Darren Niedermeyer...NOT love
Put the pole in the hole and EXPLODE

powerplant42
PV Rock Star

Unread postby powerplant42 » Sun May 10, 2009 9:09 am

They might be helpful for visualization or to help get the wrists use to moving the way they should during a plant...

Other than that, they are essentially worthless because they provide no 'feel' feedback like a pole or a high bar.

IAmTheWalrus
PV Pro
Expertise: Former College Vaulter, Current College Coach, Aspiring to be Elite Vaulter
Lifetime Best: 5.06m

Unread postby IAmTheWalrus » Sun May 10, 2009 10:27 am