Unable to use new pole. HELP

A forum to discuss pole vault technique as it relates to beginning vaulters. If you have been jumping less than a year, this is the forum for you.

Moderator: achtungpv

Panarchus
PV Newbie

Unable to use new pole. HELP

Unread postby Panarchus » Wed May 13, 2009 12:31 am

So. In desperate need of assistance/ guidance. I am a high school senior. I am 5'11" weighing 152 pounds. I started pole vaulting last year so this is my second season. We have no coach (for pole vaulting, anyways) so me and my friend have self-taught ourselves how to pole vault through videos, other team's coaches at meets, etc. Last year we used a 145 lbs skypole 13'. This year I have managed to try other team's poles (because our school sucks and didnt buy us a new pole until recently... more on that later). I used a pacer III 14' 160 lbs pole at city and was able to get 12'6" on my first try (with our poles i could only get 12' and only rarely). Later in a normal meet i used a 14'160 lbs UCS spirit and flew over 12'6" easy and scraped away a 13'. Anyways, we ended up getting a new pole: 14'6" 160 lbs skypole (flex 19.6).

Here is my problem: I CANNOT even use this pole. I am pretty damn fast and my steps feel fine (7 steps on left). I cannot make it to the pit. I am sort of reckless in that I keep trying even though i fall back after not reaching the vertical (please dont yell about safety, thats not what Im here for). I can barely bend this pole and it is really pissing me off. What I am asking for is why this pole is so much more difficult for me to use than the other 2 and what kind of pole should i get (if I decide to buy my own pole). Thanks in advance for any feedback/help. I'll try to get a video of me soon.

Also, my grip on the first 2 poles i think was around 13'7". My grip on this new pole is probably 14'2".

KirkB
PV Rock Star
Expertise: Former College Vaulter; Former Elite Vaulter; Former Coach; Fan
Lifetime Best: 5.34