Beginners Tips and Pulling

A forum to discuss pole vault technique as it relates to beginning vaulters. If you have been jumping less than a year, this is the forum for you.

Moderator: achtungpv

hyung
PV Newbie
Expertise: Beginner
Lifetime Best: n/a
World Record Holder?: Renaud Lavillenie
Favorite Vaulter: n/a

Beginners Tips and Pulling

Unread postby hyung » Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:03 am

Hi, I'm a very fresh vaulter and I would like to know what kind of things I should work on the most as a beginner. I know technique and cross-training are very important, but I was wondering if anyone could give specifics for beginners.

I'm around 5"8 or 5"9 and weigh 148 lbs/67 kilos. I've been jumping for about 2-3 months and can currently almost clear 11 feet/3.35 meters. I'm also wondering if anyone could gauge my potential. Right now I practice 14 hours a week (which I know isn't enough), and I plan to go to camp and train as much as I am able.

Lastly, I have a problem. A pulling problem. When I'm clear-headed it's usually not too bad, but I find that after coming back from a week break of training, I just yank with my supporting arm (my left). I'm unsure how to fix this and when I asked my coach, he simply told me "Just don't do it." Any advice on how to fix this would be great.

Thanks guys.

hyung
PV Newbie
Expertise: Beginner
Lifetime Best: n/a
Favorite Vaulter: n/a

Re: Beginners Tips and Pulling

Unread postby hyung » Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:11 am

I just read the forum rules...sorry. I was a bit overeager.

Additional information:

I use a 150 lb/68 kilo pole. I don't know what a rating is.
My standards tend to be far back.
I am 17.

More about the pulling; when I pull it really stomps the brakes on my momentum or if it's a slight pull it stops me from landing deep in the pit. I'll post a video later if I can.

koreanpv
PV Newbie
Expertise: Current High School Vaulter
Lifetime Best: 13'9"
Favorite Vaulter: Shawn Francis

Re: Beginners Tips and Pulling