Beginner Video Review

A forum to discuss pole vault technique as it relates to beginning vaulters. If you have been jumping less than a year, this is the forum for you.

Moderator: achtungpv

cdmilton
PV Follower
Expertise: Former College Vaulter, Coach
Lifetime Best: 16-0(4.88)

Beginner Video Review

Unread postby cdmilton » Wed Jun 11, 2014 1:41 pm

I posted this in another thread but wanted to hear what others have to say.

This is a 16 year old girl I have been working with for the past 3 months. She has never vaulted before but has been a gymnast for a long time.

Here is where she was at running from 8 steps about a month into the season. She is just learning how to carry the pole upright. Obviously there is a lot to be improved from here.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0JiCxVKG_BA

Here is where she is at a month later (3 months in). She jumped 10'1" in the following video.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gfWnkz3fE2c

We have been working really hard on her run mechanics, pole carry, plant and takeoff. She is not a naturally good runner and really struggles with her plant timing and in turn the jump off the ground. She is a gymnast and good on bars so she has a lot of power in her swing.

She is getting much better since then off the runway as shown in the following video and now we are trying to move it over to the pit.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kGwdfTTv5BQ

We still have work to do on her running, pole carry and plant but I feel we have made a lot of progress over the past 3 months. I will be working with her once a week over the next 6 weeks so I will post more updates along the way.

Any constructive thoughts and feedback would be welcomed.
Chris Milton

CoachEric
PV Whiz
Expertise: Former College Vaulter, Current Private Coach for HS and College Athletes
Lifetime Best: 16'
World Record Holder?: Renaud Lavillenie
Favorite Vaulter: Bubka

Re: Beginner Video Review

Unread postby CoachEric » Wed Jun 11, 2014 3:48 pm