New Vaulter Here! Any tips for building coordination and confidence?

A forum to discuss pole vault technique as it relates to beginning vaulters. If you have been jumping less than a year, this is the forum for you.

Moderator: achtungpv

paytonpower
PV Newbie
Expertise: Current High School Vaulter
World Record Holder?: Renaud Lavillenie
Favorite Vaulter: Yelena Isinbayeva

New Vaulter Here! Any tips for building coordination and confidence?

Unread postby paytonpower » Sat Nov 28, 2015 11:33 pm

I just started PV and can only practice during the weekends for about two hours per day because my school is currently unequipped for vaulters. I have had about six hours of instruction so far and I am way behind the other beginners. At 5'11" (as a female), I supposedly have the height advance, but I have never done anything acrobatic before. As a result, I am somewhat lacking in form/technique and would like to improve upon this at home somehow. Are there any drills for this? We began by learning the 1-2 plant and I am pretty alright at that, but once you start adding more steps I start to struggle. I'm simply not as used to maneuvering my body like a gymnast is and I have no idea how to combat this. I'm relatively light for my height at 149.6lbs and use a 10' pole, but I have yet to make it over the bar.

My coach has also told me that my confidence seems low, and that I'm thinking too hard. Although I just started PV, I enjoy it greatly and want to get better. How can I overcome these mental and physical barriers? Any advice would be much appreciated!

KirkB
PV Rock Star
Expertise: Former College Vaulter; Former Elite Vaulter; Former Coach; Fan
Lifetime Best: 5.34
Favorite Vaulter: Thiago da Silva

Re: New Vaulter Here! Any tips for building coordination and confidence?

Unread postby KirkB » Sun Nov 29, 2015 1:59 am