Coaching interventions

A forum for coaches to discuss coaching technique and advice with each other. Only registered coaches can post in this forum.

Moderator: AVC Coach

mjaubbs40
PV Whiz

Coaching interventions

Unread postby mjaubbs40 » Sat Feb 17, 2007 1:44 am

Tonight, as an opposing coach I had to ask another coaches athlete to stop vaulting at a meet because I felt they were unsafe. Unfortunately I asked him after he crashed into the right standard instead of before. Here were the symptoms: he was way over bending the pole and not penetrating. Then the pole just threw him and not always in a predictable manor. My analysis:
Run--way too long
grip--way too high
pole--way too soft (13/40 and I'm sure this kid weighed over that--not to mention the poor takeoff that still crushed the pole)
Not a good combination.
He somehow made 10-6 by planting the pole at best by his ear and just barely penetrated.
His coach couldn't understand my concern and only said, "he's made 12' before."
I asked them politely out of concern to lower his grip and move to a stiffer pole. They scratched.

I know there have been conversations/threads about "coaching interventions" and I thought I'd start a thread sharing stories to see what happened.

master
PV Lover
Expertise: Masters Vaulter, Volunteer HS Coach, Former College Vaulter
Lifetime Best: 4.36m

Unread postby master » Sat Feb 17, 2007 1:29 pm

Good for you. You did the right thing although I'm sure it was uncomfortable for you.

- master

ashcraftpv
That one guy
Expertise: Former College Vaulter (D1), Current High School Coach, 1999 Outdoor Big Ten Champion
Lifetime Best: 5.25m
World Record Holder?: Renaud Lavillenie
Favorite Vaulter: Jason Hinkin

Unread postby ashcraftpv » Sat Feb 17, 2007 1:44 pm