An Angry Vaulter

A forum for coaches to discuss coaching technique and advice with each other. Only registered coaches can post in this forum.

Moderator: AVC Coach

ArcadiaPV
PV Wannabe
Expertise: Former High School Vaulter, Former College Vaulter,High School Coach

An Angry Vaulter

Unread postby ArcadiaPV » Thu Oct 09, 2008 4:53 pm

For the past two years I've been coaching a very highly talented , hard working vaulter. He's only 15 but for the most part has the mentality of a much older athlete. Starting this year, when he gets frustrated in workouts or in the vault he goes into a silent rage. He refuses to talk to any of his friends, barely acknowledges me and eventually leaves.

His father is away year round and his mother is always working. The kid isn't getting a whole lot of love at home. As a coach I'm at a loss of what to do. I've spoken with him a few times , and he has been responsive, but its almost like a dr.jekel, mr. hyde deal. Its scary to see the transformation. The family has little money so im not sure if therapy is an option or if the athlete would even accept to go.

Any help would be gratefully appreciated.

drcurran
PV Pro
Expertise: Former HS Vaulter, Former College Vaulter, USAT&F Official, PIAA Official
Lifetime Best: 14'
Favorite Vaulter: Brian Sternberg

Re: An Angry Vaulter

Unread postby drcurran » Thu Oct 09, 2008 9:04 pm

Hey just my .02 but your best bet might be his guidance counselor at school. I know some are real good and some are just taking up space. Or maybe one of his teachers he is close to. Good luck!

Dan
I'm not as good as I once was, but I'm as good once as I ever was!
TK

smokinvaulter1
PV Follower
Expertise: Former College Vaulter, Semi Elite Vaulter
Lifetime Best: 5.55m
Favorite Vaulter: Joe Dial

Unread postby smokinvaulter1 » Thu Oct 09, 2008 10:18 pm