Unprofessional coaching behaviour

A forum for coaches to discuss coaching technique and advice with each other. Only registered coaches can post in this forum.

Moderator: AVC Coach

altius
PV Rock Star

Unprofessional coaching behaviour

Unread postby altius » Mon Apr 19, 2010 11:16 pm

Is there any way to stop the unprofessional behaviour of coaches who offer advice to athletes in competition, who they do not themselves coach, or even who they may never have seen before that day? This is not only unethical but it betrays a complete lack of understanding of the nature of skilled performance. Whether or not they are 'experts' is beside the point - unless an athlete or the athlete's coach specifically asks for advice it should not be offered. Unless you know what the athlete is trying to do - what model of vaulting they are aiming for - it can only lead to confusion. Unless of course they are absolute beginners who have no idea of what they are trying to do and are already completely confused and who may just need encouragement - but no technical advice!
Its what you learn after you know it all that counts. John Wooden

rainbowgirl28
I'm in Charge
Expertise: Former College Vaulter, I coach and officiate as life allows
Lifetime Best: 11'6"
World Record Holder?: Renaud Lavillenie
Favorite Vaulter: Casey Carrigan

Re: Unprofessional coaching behaviour

Unread postby rainbowgirl28 » Tue Apr 20, 2010 12:54 am

Train your athletes to smile and nod and ignore them. This happens all the time in the US.

I generally don't offer advice to other athletes in a meet, unless they/their coach asks me for it, or if I know them well and have reason to believe it would be well received. And even then, it would almost always be offered after the meet, not in the middle, unless it was a kid with no coach there.

baggettpv
PV Master

Unread postby baggettpv » Tue Apr 20, 2010 1:14 am