First Year Coaching Blog

A forum for coaches to discuss coaching technique and advice with each other. Only registered coaches can post in this forum.

Moderator: AVC Coach

VaultPurple
PV Lover
Expertise: Former College Vaulter, College Coach, Pole Vault Addict
Favorite Vaulter: Greg Duplantis

First Year Coaching Blog

Unread postby VaultPurple » Mon Jan 31, 2011 8:07 pm

Pole vaulting is officially under way for the first time in 10 years at J.H. Rose High school In Greenville NC. I am in charge of taking a group of kids that have never really seen anyone pole vault, let alone tried it them selves, and this is my first year being in charge of coaching a group of kids so I thought I would just post the progress on here.

Today was my second day working with the kids on pole vaulting and I feel like I hit the jack pot when it comes to finding talent, but I may be a little ahead of myself.

The first day almost everyone on the team tried grass vaulting on the football field and about 15 or so could successfully jump off one foot and ride the pole. We just worked on that going up and down the field.

Today was day two and I got about 10 of those kids back. We started by grass vaulting down the field and back. After that I took them to the sand pit and just had them all do one left long jumping and just concentrating on jumping as high as they could and really reaching their top and as high as they could do it. After they could all jump off one foot into the sand I had them do the exact same thing but with a pole in their hand holding the same place they were grass vaulting. I told them to do it exactly like they did in the grass and to just concentrate on jumping as high as they could. A few of them did it perfect the first time but it took the other few several times to get the hold of it.