Im a coach now

A forum for coaches to discuss coaching technique and advice with each other. Only registered coaches can post in this forum.

Moderator: AVC Coach

VaultBrad
PV Whiz

Im a coach now

Unread postby VaultBrad » Fri Mar 18, 2005 7:12 pm

since i cant vault this spring, ive taken the position of PV coach for my track team. im really excited about this season, ive got 8 girls and 9 or 10 guys most of them new and young. i started them off with some basic pole holding and plant drills and am very impressed. im making sure that i get them all doing everything right before i move to each next step, since they are all new i want to make sure i dont let them get any bad habits. obviously im new to coaching, but ive got a good handel on it (i learned from the great Brad Bowery).

Any coaches have any good advice on coaching, such as progression, good drills that i can have them do with limited equipment, etc.

Vaulter99
PV Beginner

Unread postby Vaulter99 » Fri Mar 18, 2005 8:34 pm

I sucks that your injured but I guess its good that you are still involved with the pole vault at your school. Im only a senior, but I know from working with new vaulters what drills you should have them do.
1. pole running drills
2. plant drills
3. Swings
4. rope drills

for some of the beginner girls that don't know how to use their strength make sure that you or a coach is able to spot them and almost push their pole while they are on it into the pit for the first few times.

Good Luck!

souleman
PV Lover
Lifetime Best: 12-7.5
Favorite Vaulter: Bob Seagren, Bob Richards

Unread postby souleman » Fri Mar 18, 2005 9:31 pm