Rookie Training and Running

A forum to discuss overall training techniques, nutrition, injuries, etc. Discussion of actual pole vault technique should go in the Technique forum.
Kris
PV Wannabe
Expertise: Current High School Vaulter
World Record Holder?: Renaud Lavillenie

Rookie Training and Running

Unread postby Kris » Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:04 am

Alright, here's the deal; I recently (4 weeks ago) started pole vaulting, so obviously im, not vaulting 15' and i probably never will. I am not a beast pole vaulter and im not expecting to become good enough to actually take it any further than high school level (if i could, i would though), where i am currently a sophomore.
That being said, i enjoy pole vaulting and i would obviously like to make it as far as i can. Browsing this forum, i have come across several topics discussing the amount of training and type of training needed for pole vaulters, and i have also read a few discussions on nutrition - but most of those topics seem to be directed toward high-level collegiate vaulters or other vaulters for whom pole vaulting is more than just a competitive hobby.