New coach..

A forum to discuss overall training techniques, nutrition, injuries, etc. Discussion of actual pole vault technique should go in the Technique forum.
thewr80
PV Newbie
Expertise: College Vaulter
Lifetime Best: 15'1
World Record Holder?: Renaud Lavillenie
Favorite Vaulter: Brad Walker

New coach..

Unread postby thewr80 » Sat Feb 16, 2013 7:43 pm

I have been pole vaulting since high school. I am a sophomore in college jumping 15'1 and this is literally my coaches first season coaching pole vault. She's an amazing strength and speed coach, but when it comes to pole vault its hard to not question her sometimes. Few examples:
1: She always wants me to go up on my first run at practice without a runthrough to catch my step.
2: I was jumping on a 15'7 155 on a 7 step (14 total steps) at about 14'6 grip(give or take) i got a new pole 15'7 160 and I had never jumped on it. I got to practice and she wanted me at the same grip on the new pole but to take off from a 5 step (10 steps) her reasoning was that since it was only a drill i should be able to do it. I feel like i need to hit a certain speed in order to go up regardless of its a drill or full jump considering the fact its at my regular jumping grip and i dont think im at the speed in just 10 total steps. Who is wrong? I try to have faith in my coach but with stuff were i feel like i can get hurt its hard to. Please help!

coachjvinson
PV Whiz
Expertise: I have never recognized the concept of limits-I think an athlete who accepts limits is dead-Bubka
Lifetime Best: 0
Favorite Vaulter: COOP 4.55m and Mondo

Re: New coach..

Unread postby coachjvinson » Sat Feb 16, 2013 8:27 pm

thewr80 wrote:1: She always wants me to go up on my first run at practice without a runthrough to catch my step.