My first decathlon results!

A forum to discuss other track and field events besides the pole vault.
TheBigMastodon
PV Nerd

My first decathlon results!

Unread postby TheBigMastodon » Fri Jun 16, 2006 9:19 pm

Well this is my first year or track and field. Im a 17 year old junior. I tried out for the decathlon for the Empire State Games and had a very surprising first day. High jump is the only event I have ever done out of the 5 first day events so I had no idea what to expect. My first day results were as follows:

100m - 11.8
LJ - 20-10
SP - 35'7''
HJ - 5'8.75''
400 - 58.5

= 2900 points even

My 100m, 400m, shot put and high jump marks were expected, but how the heck did I get 20-10 in the long jump my 2nd time ever doing it!?!?! I got 20-10, then 18-11, then I faulted one that was similar to my first jump. I landed in a standing position and ended up flying head first into the sand on every jump. If I had landed with my feet in front of me I would have gotten farther. The only other time I ever did long jump (meet or practice) was for a pentathlon and I could only get 17-8. Im estatic, but also a little mad because I wasted an entire season triple jumping 37 feet to not even place in most meets. I thought pole vault was the only event I could actually score a point in, but I guess theres another now. I long jump and pole vault off different legs than eachother, which people told me is weird. I have day 2 tomorrow and Iv never picked up a jav before, wish me luck!
First year of track and field.

PR - 13'

Hit me up on AIM!

bvpv07
PV Great
World Record Holder?: Renaud Lavillenie
Favorite Vaulter: Derek Miles

Unread postby bvpv07 » Sat Jun 17, 2006 2:57 am

Good luck and good job! :yes:
Fly me to the moon
Let me play among the stars

Rhino
PV Pro

Unread postby Rhino » Sat Jun 17, 2006 8:39 pm

That's a great long jump! That's not at all a bad thing to use different takeoff legs for different events. You are fresher that way.