World Record Holder?: Renaud Lavillenie
Favorite Vaulter: Casey Carrigan

Luke Dinnan article (MI)

Unread postby rainbowgirl28 » Sun Apr 23, 2006 7:10 pm

http://www.ourmidland.com/site/news.cfm ... 2541&rfi=6

Dinnan hoping to vault to state championship

Ryan Cole, Midland Daily News 04/22/2006

Email to a friendPost a CommentPrinter-friendly
"You just kind of run up, stop, and then there's this release and you just go up. I can't really explain it."

Midland High's Luke Dinnan may have a hard time describing the pole vault, but he sure doesn't have any trouble executing it.

Dinnan is one of the top pole vaulters in the state, and after a runner-up finish at the Division 1 state finals last season, he's looking for a state championship to end his senior year.

"I started when I was a freshman because I wanted to be on varsity and I wasn't a fast enough sprinter. So I started vaulting," said Dinnan, who won the pole vault at 14 feet even in Friday's Page/Malzahn Invitational at Dow High.

Dinnan's older brother Tim vaulted as high as 13 feet, 3 inches for the Chemics, and that served as motivation for the younger brother.

"I wanted to pole vault because my brother did," Dinnan recalled. "Then I just wanted to be better than he was."

Dinnan experienced success early. His freshman season, he went 12 feet, 6 inches. His current best is 14-6.

"I want to get up to 16 feet, but 15-6 is realistic. My coach won't let me use the 16-foot pole until I get over 15-6," Dinnan said.

Judging from the crowd that follows him around and cheers him on, his accomplishments have attracted attention.

"Luke does a great job with teaching and leadership," Midland coach Marty Hollenbeck noted. "He never misses a practice."

The Chemics have had a strong tradition in the pole vault, largely due to vaulting coach Butch Wenzel. But being the star in a reputable program also brings high expectations.