Trail Leg- Tuck or Petrov?

This is a forum to discuss advanced pole vaulting techniques. If you are in high school you should probably not be posting or replying to topics here, but do read and learn.
yurchman
PV Newbie

Trail Leg- Tuck or Petrov?

Unread postby yurchman » Sat Jul 28, 2007 6:09 pm

Frankly, which one is better? I've seen both methods implemented by elite vaulters, but Bubka uses the Petrov. Is the petrov more effective?

powerplant42
PV Rock Star

Unread postby powerplant42 » Sat Jul 28, 2007 8:26 pm

That's a good question... The Petrov model gets the best of both worlds; one trailing leg and one drive knee... It gets the pole moving as well as creating a load with the trail leg. The two leg swing moves the pole much less, but can put much more load into the pole, and the tuck gets the pole moving much more. Which one is better? I'm no expert, so I can't tell you. But most likely, the Petrov model of the swing is better, since that's what most coaches know how to teach, and there are most likely many more reasons. Now people like Galfione just happen to have a coach to teach them a different method, the two leg swing, and were able to use it well enough to achieve greatness. Here's a good thread to read:
http://www.polevaultpower.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10669
"I run and jump, and then it's arrrrrgh!" -Bubka

SlickVT
PV Follower
Expertise: Former College Vaulter, Post-Collegiate Vaulter, College Coach, High School Coach

Unread postby SlickVT » Sat Jul 28, 2007 10:14 pm

With all do respect... PLEASE use the search function at the top of the page to look into the Petrov model.

This horse has been dead a long time, long and well beaten.

There have been some really interesting discussions about this topic.
Vertical Technique Pole Vault Club
Blacksburg, Virginia
verticaltechnique.com

VTechVaulter
PV Lover
Expertise: Current Elite Vaulter, College Volunteer Coach, HUGE FAN

Unread postby VTechVaulter » Sun Jul 29, 2007 4:20 am