double leg swing and getting inverted

This is a forum to discuss advanced pole vaulting techniques. If you are in high school you should probably not be posting or replying to topics here, but do read and learn.
Cbever
PV Newbie
Expertise: Current school, South Plains junior college. sophmore
Lifetime Best: 16ft
World Record Holder?: Renaud Lavillenie
Favorite Vaulter: Renaud Lavillenie

double leg swing and getting inverted

Unread postby Cbever » Fri Apr 29, 2011 12:57 pm

I am not quite a double legger like colwick but more of a lavillenie style. A little background info: I was a gymnast my whole life,
Im a sophomore vaulter in Junior college South Plains TX with a PR of 16' height 5'8'' weight 168.

My take off is like that of lavillenie, I will try to get a video up when I can, But upon take off I drive out with my knee but when the swing initiates my leg drops so they are together on the swing.

Now my problem is in the swing, my hips have hard time getting past level so I can get vertical. They usually stop at about 4 inches from being level and this makes me come more out than up, but im strong enough to still muscle a decent upward motion and jump well above my handgrip. My legs usually stay straight as well and i have never really tried to tuck and shoot like renaud. Im wondering about the physics behind being a drop knee vaulter and if they are affecting my ability to get my hips up and drop my shoulders to become fully inverted.

Andy_C
PV Pro

Re: double leg swing and getting inverted

Unread postby Andy_C » Fri Apr 29, 2011 11:22 pm

Hi there,

It would be really good if you could show the video.

Levillenie is actually a really good example for this case. The one thing I would really like to comment about him is his take off placement. He pre-jumps (takes off waaay out).