Sutter Vaulter - 02/21/09

Post your videos and pictures to be reviewed here. Please read the guidelines first.
TheBlueShadow
PV Beginner
Expertise: Former High School Vaulter, High School Volunteer Coach, Fan, Novice Masters Vaulter

Sutter Vaulter - 02/21/09

Unread postby TheBlueShadow » Sun Feb 22, 2009 7:21 pm

Greetings! I am a vault coach at Sutter High School in Northern Calif.

Can you give me any advice regarding my vaulter on this attempt?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iW7LGjDIEgA

More info:
Grade: 12th
How long you have been jumping: 4 years ... 3 years without coaching, .5 year with coaching.
What pole you are on (length and weight rating): 14' - 170 lbs
How high you are gripping: 13'9"
What bar(s) you are attempting in the video: 14'
It's the journey, not the arrival ... that's what I'm all about. -The Reverend Horton Heat

powerplant42
PV Rock Star

Re: Sutter Vaulter - 02/21/09

Unread postby powerplant42 » Sun Feb 22, 2009 7:37 pm

He'd have an excellent approach run if it weren't for the poor carry... How wide is his grip? His hands get way out in front of him during a relatively horizontal pole carry, and so at the plant, everything slows way down. Critiquing the rest of the jump is almost irrelevant.
"I run and jump, and then it's arrrrrgh!" -Bubka

KirkB
PV Rock Star
Expertise: Former College Vaulter; Former Elite Vaulter; Former Coach; Fan
Lifetime Best: 5.34
Favorite Vaulter: Thiago da Silva

Unread postby KirkB » Mon Feb 23, 2009 1:39 am

Dane is a strong boy that uses his strength to compensate for his poor technique.

Despite holding the pole in front of him for most of his run, his plant is under, and he gets jerked on takeoff.

Instead of swinging with a long, sweeping trail leg, he immediately starts tucking into a ball, and he has sufficient forwards momentum to carry himself up and over the bar.

There are issues with his run/plant but I'll let others comment on (PP already has).