Dan Moy article (official in IL)

Unread postby rainbowgirl28 » Fri Jun 30, 2006 2:39 am

http://www.sj-r.com/sections/sports/stories/89678.asp

Keeping track
Moy makes sure rules are followed at meets

By BUFORD GREEN
STAFF WRITER
Published Thursday, June 29, 2006

JACKSONVILLE - Dan Moy, a man who knows the rules and is a stickler about following them, admits it wasn't always like that.

"Rosie (long-time Jacksonville High School track coach Al Rosenberger) encouraged me to learn the rules while I was helping him," Moy said. "He said knowing the rules would help me coach the sport and it would get me eligible to officiate.

"I was too brash to realize that I had to study, and I failed the test the first time I took it. I studied and took it again and got a perfect score.''

Moy does indeed know the track and field rulebook from front to back and has for a long time. In a career that has covered more than three decades, Moy is an in-demand official for high school, national and international track events.

"Dan Moy, without a doubt, takes it seriously and he is always very meticulous, especially as an official,'' said longtime Chatham Glenwood coach Mike Johnson, who has spent 30 years in the sport. "Officials are hard to come by, and the good ones are very hard to come by. There is a group of officials who take it very seriously, and Dan is one of those.

"His approach to a track meet is to look at every element of the meet. He is a stickler for the rules. There are no qualms about it. He flat-out goes by the rule book.''

Lanphier boys track coach Mike Garcia, who has spent 16 years at the school and 25 years overall in track, agrees.

"Good officials are tough to find, especially quality ones like Dan Moy,'' Garcia said. "He takes it very seriously, which is good for the kids and good for track. He will follow the rules and he knows the rules. He is as fair an official and person as you will find.''